I took a slow, deep breath, and spoke to him as calmly and carefully as I would address a child.
“Sometimes people hurt each other without ever meaning to, simply by being who they are, simply by existing. I know this.
The fact that you believe such a promise could be kept shows that there is no common ground between us.”

 

Then he answered me.

“–you have not trusted me enough to tell me, to make me understand.
The truth is that you don’t wanna try.
It’s easier and safer to push me away.

But if people can hurt each other simply by existing, then people can also make each other happy if they want to.”

Leave a Reply

